• Applications for National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Councils

    The U.S Office of National Marine Sanctuaries, National Ocean Service, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Department of Commerce (DOC). seeks applications for vacant seats for five of its 13 national marine sanctuary advisory councils (advisory councils). Vacant seats, including positions (i.e., primary member and alternate), for each of the advisory councils are listed in this notice under Supplementary Information. Applicants are chosen based upon their particular expertise and experience in relation to the seat for which they are applying; community and professional affiliations; views regarding the protection and management of marine or Great Lake resources; and possibly the length of residence in the area affected by the sanctuary. Applicants who are chosen as members or alternates should expect to serve two or three year terms, pursuant to the charter of the specific national marine sanctuary advisory council.

    The five advisory councils are:  Flower Garden Banks National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council; Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council; Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council; Advisory Council National Marine Sanctuary of American Samoa; and Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council.

    Applications are due by February 29, 2016.

    Application kits are specific to each advisory council. As such, application kits must be obtained from and returned to the council-specific addresses.

    Click here for more information.

    Leave a reply

    Please Answer: *