From: Sydney Morning Herald

By Tim Biggs & Jennifer Duke

The federal government has banned Chinese telecommunication companies Huawei and ZTE from providing 5G technology to Australia, Fairfax Media understands, after laying out new rules in a security guidance statement to vendors and telcos building the next-generation mobile infrastructure.

A joint statement from Treasurer Scott Morrison and Communications Minister Mitch Fifield heavily implies that the involvement of Chinese companies would pose too high a security risk, although it does not single out any specific companies and does not name China.

Read Complete Article